MLZ is a cooperation between:

Technische Universität München> Technische Universität MünchenHelmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht> Helmholtz-Zentrum GeesthachtForschungszentrum Jülich> Forschungszentrum Jülich

MLZ is a member of:

LENS> LENSERF-AISBL> ERF-AISBL

MLZ on social media:

The MLZ App – now available here! (Android)

MLZ App> MLZ App
Logo

MLZ (eng)

Lichtenbergstr.1
85748 Garching

Science Groups

Innovative research projects at the MLZ ensure optimal support for our external users, provided by competent scientists as their local contacts. At the MLZ, they are organized in science groups in order to promote collaborations on site and with surrounding institutes. They represent the science fields relevant for the MLZ.

These groups include:

The groups bring together the region’s instrument scientists, including postdoctoral researchers and scientists from research institutions and universities in the greater Munich area. The scientists join the group which is most relevant to their own research interests. The groups work at the interface between our scientific users and groups at the surrounding universities and institutes, and bring about a lively scientific exchange triggering new projects and collaborations.

Based on expected future developments in their individual scientific fields, the groups are able to generate useful input and new ideas for possible instrument upgrades and future instrument development. The groups strengthen the scientific focus of the MLZ and are a key element in securing the future of innovative neutron research at the campus in Garching and in Germany as a whole.

Science Group Coordinators

Materials Science

Dr. habil. Ralph Gilles
Phone: +49 (0)89 289-14665
E-Mail: ralph.gilles@frm2.tum.de

Dr. Michael Hofmann
Phone: + 49 (0)89 289-14744
E-Mail: michael.hofmann@frm2.tum.de

Soft Matter

Dr. Henrich Frielinghaus
Phone: +49 (0)89 289-10706
E-Mail: h.frielinghaus@fz-juelich.de

Dr. Michaela Zamponi
Phone: +49 (0)89 289-10793
E-Mail: m.zamponi@fz-juelich.de

Quantum Phenomena

Dr. Yixi Su
Phone: +49 (0)89 289-10714
E-Mail: y.su@fz-juelich.de

Dr. Robert Georgii
Phone: +49 (0)89 289-14986
E-Mail: robert.georgii@frm2.tum.de

Structure Research

Dr. Anatoliy Senyshyn
Phone: +49 (0)89 289-14316
E-Mail: anatoliy.senyshyn@frm2.tum.de

Dr. Martin Meven
Phone: +49 (0)89 289-14727
E-Mail: martin.meven@frm2.tum.de

Neutron Methods

Dr. Peter Link
Phone: +49 (0)89 289-14622
E-Mail: peter.link@frm2.tum.de

Dr. Sebastian Busch
Telefon: +49 (0)89 289-10764
E-Mail: sebastian.busch@hzg.de

Nuclear, Particle, and Astrophysics

Prof. Dr. Bastian Märkisch
Phone: +49 (0)89 289-14485
E-mail: maerkisch@ph.tum.de

Prof. Dr. Peter Fierlinger
Phone: +49 (0)89 35831-7131
E-mail: peter.fierlinger@tum.de

MLZ is a cooperation between:

Technische Universität München> Technische Universität MünchenHelmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht> Helmholtz-Zentrum GeesthachtForschungszentrum Jülich> Forschungszentrum Jülich

MLZ is a member of:

LENS> LENSERF-AISBL> ERF-AISBL

MLZ on social media:

The MLZ App – now available here! (Android)

MLZ App> MLZ App