The User Committee at MLZ

In 2017, the management of the MLZ established a User Committee to provide better communication between the Directorate and the user community. This recognises that many valuable ideas come forward as a result of users' experience. The committee also provides a means to resolve any difficulties that may arise in connection with a user's experiment. It has direct access to the directors. Importantly, specific problems can be handled entirely confidentially. It is recognised that this can be very valuable in maintaining good relations between users, staff and management.

The committee was first elected in late 2017. To ensure that there is a broad range of expertise and representation from across the user community, Diana Quintero Castro was co-opted to join the committee. Recognising the importance of close contact with the German user community, a repre***sentative of KFN, Rainer Niewa from Stuttgart, will also be invited to future meetings as an observer. The list of members is shown at the right. A meeting with the new Scientific directors was held in early May 2018.

The role of the committee includes bringing forward new strategic ideas to the MLZ directorate; it has the ultimate goal to improve MLZ user satisfaction. To fulfil this overall aim, the committee seeks the broadest possible range of input from users. Any suggestions that might affect the successful outcome of proposed research can be considered. These could, for example, concern handling of proposals, planning experiments, development and use of instruments, the support laboratories, the control and analysis software, as well as technical support. The committee is independent of the MLZ staff and management. It has regular meetings and brings ideas raised to the attention of the MLZ Directorate. Any of the committee members can be contacted You can meet members at various conferences and workshops, while they are performing experiments at MLZ, or reach them by e-mail. your input is welcome!

A. Rennie (University of Uppsala)

User Committee members



Adrian Rennie (Chair) Uppsala, Sweden adrian.rennie@physics.uu.se

Sophie Combet (Deputy Chair) Saclay, France sophie.combet@cea.fr

Jens Gibmeier Karlsruhe, Germany jens.gibmeier@kit.edu

David Keeble
Dundee, U.K.
d.j.keeble@dundee.ac.uk

Luigi Paduano Naples, Italy luigi.paduano@unina.it

Diana Quintero Castro Stavanger, Norway diana.l.quintero@uis.no

https://mlz-garching.de/user-office/user-committee.html

User Office